top of page

Swap It Up

I walked down into the kitchen to eat breakfast. A pop tart sounded good. Today was the big day, the day of the dance. I was going to ask my crush, Hunter to the dance. I was so nervous. When I finished, I went upstairs to change. I looked to my right to see one of my cats laying in bed.

“I wish I could be a cat. They lay around all day and get fed by other people. They have no stress, worries, or problems.”

That’s when I felt a weird tingling go from my toes to my head. After about 15 seconds, it was over. I looked in the mirror. There was no way… I was a cat! Oh no, what am I going to do? The dance is today, and my cat is going to have to go to school today and pretend to be me! My mom walked in the room.

“Mom! I need help! Me and the cat switched lives!” I screamed. “Makayla, why is the cat meowing so much? Is she okay?” My mom asked. “I” (the cat) sat there just staring at my mom.

“Okay… Not a very good mood?” She said in a questioning voice.

She walked out of the room.

I decided to do whatever I could to enjoy my time as a cat. I ran downstairs and jumped onto the counter and on top of the fridge. This is fun! Then, I saw my tail and started to play with it. Awesome! It was time to taste the food… There better not be real fish in here! Yuck! That was nasty! I jumped up into the pantry and spilled some Fruity Pebbles. Dad’s going to have to clean this up. Oh well! I nibbled away. Then, I fell asleep on the couch. It was wonderful. That’s when I realized that the cat was going to have to go to school. She was still wearing pajamas and she was walking out the door. I chased her and clawed at her.

“I want to be me again!” I shouted. Then I felt a familiar tingling sensation, as I felt thirty minutes before. I looked in the mirror and I was me again. It was fun and all, but I have to go ask out my crush! I got on the bus and went through the school day. During sixth period, I asked him. He said yes! I got home and saw my cat, Scar sleeping.

“Man, that would be nice…” I said. I felt that same tingling sensation. Well, at least I won’t have to do homework! Wait, he’s picking me up tonight at six!

“Oh, great.” I said in a sarcastic voice. “Just great.”

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page