top of page

The Goldfish

It was my 12th birthday and I was so happy! I was finally getting my dream present, a pet! But when I woke up the pet I got was a goldfish. A goldfish! Like really, Mom? A goldfish lasts a week unlike a nice fluffy golden retriever that I actually wanted. I held back my feelings for the unwanted gift and said thank you. After eating blueberry and blackberry pancakes, my special birthday breakfast, I started my walk to school. While I was walking to school I started to get really upset thinking about my goldfish. I have been wanting a dog since I was six! I held back my feelings knowing that some kids don’t even get a present for their birthday or even delicious blueberry and blackberry pancakes.

My day at school was pretty good! Everyone was nice to me and some people even showed up with gifts for me. I forgot all about the goldfish until I got home and saw him swimming in his little tank all happy that he left Pet Smart. At my house a bunch of my family was there and friends we’re showing up for my birthday dinner, flank steak, baked potatoes, and other sides my family prepared or guests brought. Everyone said they liked my fish and like the orange and white pattern that was on it. The pattern was unique but nothing that interesting. Later that night we had my birthday cake and opened some more gifts from my family and friends. I suddenly felt grateful for that goldfish who I ended up naming Shark. I realised it is the thought that counts. I am already so lucky having a great life and Shark was just another thing I was lucky to have!

Shark ended up living for five years! I always got a new little goldfish every year for my birthday but no one could replace Shark. Although Shark will be missed I ended up getting a dog for Christmas a year after his passing and we named him Goldey after Shark the goldfish.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page