top of page

The City of Poverty

Living in poverty has always been a problem, especially for me. My friends and I have lived this way ever since we were young. I lost my parents when I was just five years old. Having no other family to go to, I had to just find a way to survive without an adult by my side. After a few days of living in a small alley, a boy just a few years older saw me and took me to this place he calls “The Hole”.

The Hole, a place where children living in poverty in South Eastern Africa can live safely without any dangers. It is located in the spot of an old cotton mill. The building was created into a city of poverty for young boys. The boy that brought me here was named Dig. He was the original creator of The Hole. He lived there alone for two years. He found me and we together created The Hole.

The past few weeks at night we have heard loud noises. They seem to be getting closer and closer. Dig says it's nothing, but me and the others have been worried that something will happen. Then a few nights later it came. It was like an army of humongous vehicles that made all of us seem like ants. They came to do construction on this site, our site. It was the middle of the night. We were as quiet as possible. We saw flashlights that were coming straight from the doorway. I looked over to Digs bed and he wasn't there. “You guys. Over here.” It was Dig whispering. Tip Toeing over was Dig took us to a room that none of us new about . “I call this the under room. This name makes sense because it was underneath a pile of gravel with a wooden plank under. We all settled down and fell asleep with the sound of construction beneath.

A man yelled to us. “ What are you all doing here.” Three more men came and dragged all of us out. This is when I realized the Hole was gone because it was a pile of broken cement. I was crying, looking back seeing all the boys fighting to get away. What will happen next? They took us to a shelter where there were many other boys that I didn’t recognize. Over the course of a month, I was still very confused and terrified. Many adults came and took kids with them. They gave us food that was like heaven. About two months of these feelings and a pair of adults that looked different from me decided to take me with them. The had skin that looked like the beach’s sand. There names were June and Kyle Day.

What is written down all right here is all I remember of my childhood. I am now twenty and am about to graduate from the University of South Africa and have had a great live with my new parents that adopted me. Since I was separated from Dig and all my other friends I haven't seen them since. The only thing that has haunted me was seeing what the Hole has became. After seven years I finally went there. The Hole has became a homeless shelter for boys that suffer from poverty.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page